Immanuel College Logo


Immanuel College is a full fledged College affiliated to Nagaland University and is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) Under Sec. 2(f) & 12(B). It was established in 1994, the pioneer among Science colleges in Dimapur municipality. It is Located in a residential area at Lingrijan, Dimapur, Nagaland which is 3 km away from the railway station and 10 km away from the airport. The Higher Secondary course of Immanuel College is registered with Nagaland Board of School Education. The college was established with the aim of providing quality education. Besides preparing the students academically both in science and arts streams, the college also focuses on the students’ development as responsible citizens of the country. The main objective of Immanuel College is to develop a notable personality, with excellent character and culture to face the challenges of the modern world. Moreover, our state being less developed in the field of higher education, the college was established to provide the opportunity of availing the facilities of higher education within the State itself in both the fields of Arts and Sciences. To create a conducive atmosphere of better education, lecturers are involved in all the educational, cultural and spiritual programmes for the overall formation of the students. The College has also introduced Mentoring Programme with the objective to bring out the best in our students. The College aims to teach, nurture and encourage every student. To meet the ever-increasing challenges in this modern advanced world the college has spared no effort in keeping pace with these challenges both academically and in other co-curricular activities as well as in matters of infrastructural development.

A Brief History

The College was established on 2nd February 1994 in loving memory of late Kilenkaba (1862-1958), son of Asaksoba of Nokpu Village. It was inaugurated by the then Honourable Minister of Higher and Technical Education, Lt. Shri. Shikiho Sema on 14th Nov. 1994. Later on 5th August 2008, the Chairmanship and proprietorship was handed over to Dr. A Loso Chalai. The college was formally renamed as Immanuel College on 7th May 2010, by Dr. Maongwati Aier, Deputy Commissioner, Dimapur and was dedicated by Rev. N. Tzudir, Pastor, Dimapur Ao Baptist Church to the younger generation for the glory of God with a new motto. Motto : “Learn and Shine”.

Governing Body

Immanuel College has constituted Governing Body meant for policy making, which consists of the following:

  • Chairman : Dr. A. Loso Chalai
  • Managing Director : Mrs. Kapesa Chalai
  • Member Secretary : Mr. Th. Sharatchandra Singh, Principal
  • Members :
    • Mr. Nihoto Chishi, Secretary, Deptt. Of Law & Justice, Nagaland
    • Mrs. Eunice Chishi, Social Worker
    • Mrs. K Kaini Chalai, Research Officer, Guwahati High Court, Kohima Bench
    • Mr. Charles Mhonthung Ezung, Vice-principal
    • Ms. Temsumerenla Longkumer, Registrar
    • Ms. Imchanochetla Changkija, HOD English Department ( Teacher Representative )
    • Mr. Sinyhunlo Keppen, HOD Political Science Department ( Teacher Representative )
    • Mr. Md. Mumtaz Ali, HOD Chemistry Department ( Teacher Representative )
    • Dr. Buno Zetsuvi, Associate Professor Education Department NU ( University Representative )


  • Principal : Mr. Th. Sharatchandra Singh
  • Vice Principal : Mr. Charles Mhonthung Ezung
  • Registrar : Smt. Temsumerenla Longkumer
  • Dean of Students’ Welfare : Mr. Loli Athisü
  • Examination Supervisor : Mr. Md. Mumtaz Ali
  • Data Analyst : Ms. D Sonia Susan